Alban Lakata, Sally Bigham win 20th Leadville Trail 100 MTB

The men's and women's winners both shatter course records at the 20th annual event

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.

The 20th annual Leadville Trail 100 MTB on Saturday proved to be a record-breaking affair.

Alban Lakata (Topeak-Ergon) defended his 2012 title in the men’s race, hitting the line in six hours, four minutes and one second.

Despite tacky trails and a brutal headwind on the road for the return trip, Lakata shattered the previous best time of 6:16:37, set in 2010 by Levi Leipheimer.

Last year’s runner-up,  world marathon champion Christoph Sauser (Specialized), finished second once again, in 6:05:07, 1:06 off the winning time. Todd Wells (Specialized) rounded out the podium in third in 6:18:47.

In the women’s race, Sally Bigham (Topeak-Ergon) took the victory in 7:17:01, likewise destroying the mark of 7:28:06 set in 2012 by four-time champ Rebecca Rusch. It was a vindication of sorts for Bigham, who finished second to Rusch last year after being one of a number of riders briefly misdirected off the course.

Recently crowned national criterium champion Alison Powers (Herbalife24-NOW) finished second in 7:21:57, with Rusch (Specialized) third at 7:35:27.




Trending on Velo

An American in France

What’s it like to be an American cyclist living in France? Watch to get professional road cyclist Joe Dombrowski’s view.