Ryan, Williams win Electric City Circuit at Speed Week

Allar, Alzate defend overall leads with one event remaining

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.

Kendall Ryan and David Williams won the penultimate stop on the USA Crits Speed Week calendar Saturday night at the Electric City Circuit in Anderson, South Carolina.

Carolos Alzate (Exergy) and Erica Allar (RideClean-Patentit.com) defended their overall leads with Sunday’s Global Imports Sandy Springs Cycling Challenge remaining.

Ryan (Tibco-To the Top) attacked almost from the start and eventually lapped the field in the women’s race. Her win secure, Ryan and her teammates led Jen Purcell out for the field sprint win for second.

In the men’s race, Williams (Competitive Cyclist) was active all night, attacking early with series leader Alzate and four other riders, including Ivan Dominguez (Franco Bicycles), but it was a second attack that eventually sprung Williams and allowed him to lap the field. Alzate dove into the final corner and jumped to take the field sprint for second, ahead of Robert Förster (UnitedHealthcare).

“It’s been kind of a tough week for everybody in the field,” said Williams. “But I think we’re finally getting into rhythm. These races vary so much, but I think this is definitely a morale booster.”

Electric City Circuit Brief Results

1. David Williams, Competitive Cyclist Racing Team
2. Carlos Alzate, Team Exergy
3. Robert Forster, UnitedHealthcare
4. Jake Keough, UnitedHealthcare
5. Emile Abraham, Rossetti Devo Cycling Team
6. Frank Travieso, Team Coco’s
7. John Murphy, Kenda-5-hour Energy
8. Jean Michel Lechance, Rossetti Devo Cycling Team
9. Leonardo Marquez, Rossetti Devo Cycling Team
10. Shane Kline Team, Mountain Khakis-SmartStop

1. Kendall Ryan, Team Tibco-To the Top
2. Jennifer Purcell, Team Tibco To the Top
3. Erica Allar, RideClean-PatentIt.com
4. Sarah Fader, Pepper Palace-Spin-Tech Training
5. Joanne Kiesanowski, Team Tibco-To the Top
6. Laura Van Gilder, Mellow Mushroom-Rose Bandit Racing
7. Alexis Ryan, Team Tibco-To the Top
8. Lindsay Bayer, XO Communications-CISCO
9. Debbie Milne, Absolute Racing-MSMOC
10. Addyson ‘Addy’ Albershardt, NOW-Novartis for MS

USA Crits Speed Week Overall Standings (after six events)

1. Carlos Alzate, Team Exergy 1441 pts
2. Frank Travieso, Team Coco’s 1335 pts
3. Emile Abraham, Rossetti Devo Cycling Team 1314 pts
4. John Murphy, Kenda-5-hour Energy Pro Cycling 1296 pts
5. Brendan Cornett, Cycle Sport Concepts 1070 pts
6. Ben Chaddock, Team Exergy 1053 pts
7. Rafael Meran, CRCA-Foundation 1023 pts
8. Yosmani Pol, Team Coco’s 1021
9. Thomas Brown, Team Mountain Khakis-SmartStop 994 pts
10. Issac Howe, Kenda-5-hour Energy 950 pts

1. Erica Allar, RideClean-PatentIt.com 1454 pts
2. Laura Van Gilder, Mellow Mushroom-Rose Bandit Racing 1416 pts
3. Sarah Fader, Pepper Palace-Spin-Tech Training 1394 pts
4. Linday Bayer, XO Communications-CISCO 1270 pts
5. Alexis Ryan, Team TIBCO-To the Top 1182 pts
6. Elizabeth Morse Hill, ZMotion Racing Team 1164 pts
7. Addy Albershardt, NOW-Novartis for MS 1116 pts
8. Carrie Cash, Pedal The Cause 1060 pts
9. Morgan Patton, Team Type 1-SANOFI 1048 pts
10. Kat Carr, Paceline Projects-Veloforma 1037 pts

2012 USA Crits Speed Week Series Schedule

May 6: Global Imports Sandy Springs Cycling Challenge, Sandy Springs, Ga.

Trending on Velo

An American in France

What’s it like to be an American cyclist living in France? Watch to get professional road cyclist Joe Dombrowski’s view.