BC Bike Race Sold Out

Among the 500 racers to start the seven-day MTB stage race on June 27 in Vancouver are Catharine Pendrel, Geoff Kabush, Manny Prado, Melanie McQuaid and Chris Sheppard.

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.

By Singletrack.com

500 racers are set to take on the seven-day BC Bike Race, which starts June 27 in Vancouver. Courtesy photo
500 racers are set to take on the seven-day BC Bike Race, which starts June 27 in Vancouver. Courtesy photo

The 2010 edition of the BC Bike Race is sold out at 500 riders, according to organizers of the seven-day mountain bike stage race.

In its fourth year the BC Bike Race has again reached 100-percent capacity, with the 500 participants starting the event on June 27 in N. Vancouver, British Columbia.

“With singletrack and environmental issues to be considered we must be very careful of our footprint each year,” course designer Andreas Hestler said about the race’s capacity. “Each of the other events in this category has their own flavour and their own capacity, but we don’t foresee being able or interested in hosting more than 500 each year. It’s simply the most sustainable number for our area.”

Organizers said women’s participation in the race has climbed to 19 percent, including top pros and age-groupers. Among the registered racers are Catharine Pendrel (Luna Pro Team), a Canadian Olympian, World Cup winner and National Team member. She will be teaming up with another Canadian Olympian and World Cup winner, Geoff Kabush (Maxxis- Rocky Mountain), in the mixed category.

Three-time Xterra World Champion Melanie McQuaid will also take on the BC Bike Race. So too will Manny Prado (ShoAir-Specialized) winner of the 2009 La Ruta de los Conquistadores.

Also set to race are Wendy Simms and Norm Thibault (Kona Factory Team). They will defend their mixed title from 2008.

• Colin Kerr (Rocky Mountain Factory Team) winner of BCBR Solo 2009.
• Winner of BCBR in 2009 with teammate Seamus McGrath, Chris Sheppard (Rocky Mountain Factory Team) will be competing in the Solo Category this year.
•Barry Wicks and Kris Sneddon (Kona Factory Team) were winners of the BC Bike Race in 2008.
• 2009 stage leader Jason Sager (Jamis Factory Team).
• Marty Lazarski and Stephan Widmer (Rocky Mountain Factory Team) winners of Trans Rockies 2009

Trending on Velo

An American in France

What’s it like to be an American cyclist living in France? Watch to get professional road cyclist Joe Dombrowski’s view.