U.S. team roster for cyclocross worlds

Six U.S. elite men and five women qualified for the world championships

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.

Elite men

The U.S. will send six American men to the cyclocross world championships. The nation had two riders who met the autonatic qualification criteria, 2012 national champion Jeremy Powers (Easthampton, Mass./Team Rapha-Focus) who is currently ranked 11th internationally, and Tim Johnson (Topsfield, Mass./ Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld.com), who, at 17th, was the second highest internationally-ranked American rider.

Ryan Trebon (Bend, Ore./LTS-Felt), Jamey Driscoll (Winooski, Vt./Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld.com), Jonathan Page (Northfield, N.H./Planet Bike) and Christopher Jones (Auburn, Calif./Team Rapha-Focus) will also be in attendance as discretionary nominees.

Elite women

All five of the American women who qualified for the world championships met the automatic qualification criteria. Eight-time national champion Katie Compton (Colorado Springs, Colo./Rabobank-Giant) placed second in the 2011 cyclocross world championships and has placed in the top five at three UCI World Cup events.

Amy Dombroski (Boulder, Colo./Crankbrothers Race Club), qualified automatically for placing in the top 15 at two World Cups. Kaitlin Antonneau (Racine, Wisc./Cyclocrossworld-Cannondale Cyclocrossworld) earned a spot for finishing 10th at the UCI World Cup race in Namur, Belgium.

Based on their top-15 results at UCI World Cup events, Meredith Miller (Boulder, Colo./California Giant Berry Farms-Specialized) and Nicole Duke (Boulder, Colo./Cyclocrossworld-Cannondale Cyclocrossworld) automatically qualified for worlds.

Complete U.S. team roster:

Elite Men
Tim Johnson* (Topsfield, Mass./ Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld.com)
Jeremy Powers* (Easthampton, Mass./Team Rapha-Focus)
Jamey Driscoll (Winooski, Vt./Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld.com)
Christopher Jones(Auburn, Calif./Team Rapha-Focus)
Jonathan Page (Northfield, N.H./Planet Bike)
Ryan Trebon (Bend, Ore./LTS-Felt)

Elite Women
Kaitlin Antonneau* (Racine, Wisc./Cyclocrossworld-Cannondale Cyclocrossworld)
Katie Compton* (Colorado Springs, Colo./Rabobank-Giant)
Amy Dombroski* (Boulder, Colo./Crankbrothers Race Club)
Nicole Duke* (Boulder, Colo./Cyclocrossworld-Cannondale Cyclocrossworld)
Meredith Miller* (Boulder, Colo./California Giant Berry Farms-Specialized)

U23 Men
Zach McDonald* (Bainbridge Island, Wash./Team Rapha-Focus)
Cody Kaiser (El Dorado Hills, Calif./California Giant Berry Farms-Specialized)

Junior Men
Andrew Dillman* (Fairdale, Ky./Bob’s Red Mill)
Logan Owen* (Bremerton, Wash./Team Redline)
Richard Cypress Gorry (Payson, Ariz./Whole Athlete-Specialized)
Tobin Ortenblad (Santa Cruz, Calif./California Giant Berry Farms-Specialized)
Curtis White (Delanson, N.Y./Clif Bar Development Cyclo Cross Team)

* Met automatic qualification criteria

An American in France

What’s it like to be an American cyclist living in France? Watch to get professional road cyclist Joe Dombrowski’s view.