Become a Member

Get access to more than 30 brands, premium video, exclusive content, events, mapping, and more.

Already have an account? Sign In

Become a Member

Get access to more than 30 brands, premium video, exclusive content, events, mapping, and more.

Already have an account? Sign In



Tostado Defends 24-Hour Title in Moab

The 24-Hours of Moab and the 24-hour national championships were held together over the weekend, with Josh Tostado defending his title in the men's solo division and Jari Kirkland taking the women's solo Stars-and-Stripes jersey.

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.


2010 USA Cycling 24-Hour Mountain Bike Nationals
Moab, Utah October 9-10, 2010

Men’s Solo Championship 
Josh Tostado (Breckenridge, Colo.)
Women’s Solo Championship
 Jari Kirkland (Crested Butte, Colo.)
Men’s Solo Singlespeed Championship 
Cameron Chambers (Colorado Springs, Colo.)
Women’s Solo Singlespeed Championship 
Cat Morrison (Grand Junction, Colo.)
Mixed Duo Championship
 Honey Stinger/Trek duo
Men’s Duo Championship
 The Hammer Duo
Women’s Duo Championship 
The Lil’ Girls on Big Wheels
Men’s 4-Person Championship
 Honey Stinger/Trek team
Women’s 4-Person Championship 
Kent Brothers Women’s Team
Men’s Junior (18 & under) Championship 
Quadruple Gnar II
Men’s Masters (35+) Championship 
Basalt Bike & Ski/ESC
Women’s Masters (35+) Championship 
Nutzy Girlz Justin’s/Titus
Men’s Masters (45+) Championship 
Justin’s Nuts

Thirteen national titles were awarded on Sunday as the nation’s top ultra-endurance mountain bikers wrapped up 24 hours of racing at the USA Cycling 24-Hour Mountain Bike National Championships, which for the second year in a row were held in conjunction with the 24-Hours of Moab.

Josh Tostado (Breckenridge, Colo.) successfully defended his title in the men’s solo division, completing 18 laps of the 15-mile circuit to take the win over rival Kelly Magelky (Golden, Colo.) who completed 17 laps for the silver medal, and Cary Smith (Austin, Texas) who raced 16 laps for the bronze.

Jari Kirkland (Crested Butte, Colo.) put forth a dominating performance to win the women’s solo category, putting 14 laps under her belt to ride into the Stars-and-Stripes jersey. Grabbing the silver medal was Kris Cannon (Steamboat, Colo.) with 13 laps while Laureen Coffelt (Memphis, Tenn.) completed 12 laps for the bronze.

On his singlespeed, Cameron Chambers (Colorado Springs, Colo.) completed 16 laps and climbed onto the top step of the podium in the men’s solo singlespeed contest. He beat second-place finisher Shawn Gregory (Cortez, Colo.) and third-place rider Brian Lehman (Denver, Colo.) who completed 15 and 14 laps respectively.

Cat Morrison (Grand Junction, Colo.) rode for eleven laps on her singlespeed to earn the national title in the Women’s Solo Singlespeed Championship over silver medalist Karen Rishel (Las Cruces, NM) and bronze medalist Heather Thiry (McCall, Idaho).

The Honey Stinger/Trek duo of Sarah Anderson (Glenwood Springs, Colo.) and Max Taam (Snowmass Village, Colo.) finished 19 laps, beating their nearest opponents by two laps, to take the victory in the Mixed Duo Championship.

The Hammer Duo of Ben Parsons (Kalispell, Mont.) and Clint Muhlfeld (Whitefish, Mont.) defeated six other pairs in the men’s duo championship, completing 20 laps for their Stars-and-Stripes jerseys.

The Lil’ Girls on Big Wheels duo of Kara Holley and Sarah Kaufmann (Ogden, Utah) won the Women’s Duo national title after riding for 16 laps.

With a total of 22 laps, the Honey Stinger/Trek fouresome of Len Zanni (Carbondale, Colo.), Kalan Beisel (Colorado Springs, Colo.), Ross Schnell (Grand Junction, Colo.), and Jay Henry (Avon, Colo.) took the national title in the Men’s 4-Person competition.

Covering 16 laps in 24 hours, the Kent Brothers Women’s Team of Heidi Gaskill (Missoula, Mont.), Anya Weschler, Heidi Rentz (Moab, Utah), and Laurel Douglas (Missoula, Mont.) earned the podium’s top step in the Women’s 4-Person category.

The Quadruple Gnar II squad of Casey Williams (Big Bear City, Calif.), Tyler Coplea (Fountain Hills, Ariz.), Travis Glysson (Marana, Ariz.), and Zach Valdez (Hemet, Calif.) covered 19 laps for a total of 285 miles to take the national title in the Men’s Junior (18 & under) competition.

The Men’s Masters (35+) competition was quite close with the top two squads both completing a whopping 20 laps of the 15-mile circuit and the victory going to the Basalt Bike & Ski/ESC squad of Jason Lapointe (Carbondale, Colo.), Joel Mischke (Basalt, Colo.), Charlie Eckart (Aspen, Colo.), and Mike Scanlon (Snowmass Village, Colo.) in the end.

The Nutzy Girlz Justin’s/Titus team of Coreen Wright (Evergreen, Colo.), Kay Levesque (Boulder, Colo.), Stacy Moller (Golden, Colo.), and Michelle Slingsby (Arvada, Colo.) took the top step of the podium in the Women’s Masters (35+) group with 15 laps.

Justin’s Nuts team of Michael Hogan (Louisville, Colo.), Drew Greer, Keith Sanders, (Winter Park, Colo.) and Thomas Dooley (Boulder, Colo.) combined their efforts to complete 19 laps over the 24 hours to grab the national title in the Men’s Masters (45+) group.

It was the second year in a row that the 24-Hours of Moab hosted the USA Cycling 24-Hour Mountain Bike National Championships. In addition to all of the championship categories that were contested, riders competed in various non-championship categories in both 12 and 24-hour divisions.

For complete results for both the championship and non-championship categories in Moab, click here.

An American in France

What’s it like to be an American cyclist living in France? Watch to get professional road cyclist Joe Dombrowski’s view.