Pro crit teams respond to USA Crits director’s SafeSport ban

In a statement sent to VeloNews, several crit-racing teams have responded to SafeSport allegations regarding the now-former managing director of USA Crits.

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.

In a combined statement sent to VeloNews, 17 teams that participate in the USA Crits series have responded to SafeSport allegations regarding Scott Morris, the now-former managing director of USA Crits.

Morris recently received a temporary suspension from SafeSport, the specifics of which have not been made public, and was subsequently dismissed by USA Crits, as the series confirmed in a statement on Sunday. Over the past few days, some of the teams that race USA Crits events have announced that they will no longer participate in them.

On Monday, 17 other D1 teams addressed the topic in a combined statement.

That statement is published below. You can read the full story over at VeloNews.

“We, the undersigned D1 teams of USA CRITS, seek to continue competing under a unified series. We believe a national criterium series brings great value to the teams, spectators, and events as well as to our partners and investors.

“In light of the suspension and firing of the former director of USA CRITS, the D1 teams met to discuss our goals and vision fo the future of American criterium racing. We remain committed to sustainable growth in cycling at every level by creating a safe and fair sporting environment that empowers equity, diversity and inclusion.

“While we intend to move forward with a series, we will only participate in a program guided by the teams and events; one which provides transparency on critical issues, and honors and complies with USAC and SafeSport code. The teams and events have a vested interest in the success of a national series and our hope is that together we can continue to build criterium racing in America.

“Finally, as planning and discussions are ongoing, we urge participating events to hold off on any decisions with regard to series participation. We ask that you stand with us, the teams, in our effort to create a safer, more unified program. It is only through mutual investment from teams, events, and our respective sponsors that we will succeed.”

The statement was signed by the following teams:

  • Automatic Racing: Lauren Dodge, Tom Gibbons, team owners
  • Best Buddies: Richard Fries, team director
  • ButcherBox: Steven Ramirez, Dino Piskopanis, team owners
  • CS Velo: Kurt Dodds, director/owner; Meredith Dodds, manager
  • Clif Bar: Dylan Seguin, director
  • Colavita-HelloFresh: Christnia Gokey-Smith, Tina Pic, team managers
  • DNA Pro Cycling: Catherine Fegan-Kim, Lee Whaley, Alex Kim, team owners
  • Aminorip-Extra Sweet: Valentina Chacin, president Extra Sweet Corp.
  • Good Guys Racing: Michael Tan, team director
  • Levine Law Group: Lauren LeClaire, team director
  • Nashville Local Cycling: Michaelee Bowes, director; Richard Keller, director
  • Robson Forensic-Milligan Cycling: Osias Lozano, team director
  • Space City Development Team: Brady Reed, director
  • United Cycling: Lauren Koon, Grayson Keppler, team owners
  • Voler Factory-OVCB: Philip Mooney, team manager
  • ATX Wolfpack-Jakroo: Kelly Barrientes, Dustin Barrientes, team owners
  • BSGC-Support Clean Sport-Guttenplan Coaching: David Guttenplan, team owner

Trending on Velo

An American in France

What’s it like to be an American cyclist living in France? Watch to get professional road cyclist Joe Dombrowski’s view.