Who is riding where? A guide to 2017 transfers

We've compiled a list of the major teams and their new hires for the 2017 season. Which top cyclists will wear new colors in the coming year?

Photo: BrakeThrough Media

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.

It’s easy to lose track of the myriad trades that happen during the late-summer transfer season in the pro men’s peloton. So, we’ve compiled a list of the major teams and their new hires for the 2017 season.

Ag2r La Mondiale

Mathias Frank (leaves IAM Cycling)
Alexandre Geniez (leaves FDJ)
Stijn Vandenbergh (leaves Etixx – Quick-Step)
Sondre Holst Enger (leaves IAM Cycling)
Oliver Naesen (leaves IAM Cycling)
Rudy Barbier (leaves Roubaix Lille Metropole)
Clément Chevrier (leaves IAM Cycling)


Oscar Gatto (leaves Tinkoff)
Moreno Moser (leaves Cannondale – Drapac)
Michael Valgren (leaves Tinkoff)
Jesper Hansen (leaves Tinkoff)
Oleg Zemlyakov (leaves Vino 4Ever)

Bahrain – Merida

Vincenzo Nibali (leaves Astana)
Giovanni Visconti (leaves Movistar)
Manuele Boaro (leaves Tinkoff)
Sonny Colbrelli (leaves Bardiani – CSF)
Ramūnas Navardauskas (leaves Cannondale – Drapac)
Tsgabu Grmay (leaves Lampre – Merida)
Javier Moreno (leaves Movistar)
Ion Izagirre (leaves Movistar)

Bora – Hansgrohe

Peter Sagan (leaves Tinkoff)
Marcus Burghardt (leaves BMC Racing)
Maciej Bodnar (leaves Tinkoff)
Erik Baska (leaves Tinkoff)
Michael Kolar (leaves Tinkoff)
Pascal Ackermann (leaves Rad-Net)
Juraj Sagan (leaves Tinkoff)
Rafal Majka (leaves Tinkoff)
Pawel Poljanski (leaves Tinkoff)
Leopold König (leaves Team Sky)

Cannondale – Drapac

Sep Vanmarcke (leaves LottoNL – Jumbo)
Hugh Carthy (leaves Caja Rural – Seguros RGA)
Brendan Canty (leaves Drapac)


Dimitri Claeys (leaves Wanty – Groupe Gobert)
Guillaume Bonnafond (leaves Ag2r La Mondiale)
Jimmy Turgis (leaves Roubaix Lille Metropole)

Dimension Data

Lachlan Morton (leaves Jelly Belly – Maxxis)
Ben King (leaves Cannondale – Drapac)
Scott Thwaites (leaves Bora – Argon 18)

Etixx – Quick-Step

Philippe Gilbert (leaves BMC Racing)
Dries Devenyns (leaves IAM Cycling)
Rémi Cavagna (leaves Klein Constantia)
Maximilian Schachmann (leaves Klein Constantia)
Enric Mas (leaves Klein Constantia)
Eros Capecchi (leaves Astana)
Tim Declercq (leaves Topsport Vlaanderen)


Jacopo Guarnieiri (leaves Katusha)
Rudy Molard (leaves Cofidis)
Tobias Ludvigsson (leaves Giant – Alpecin)

Fortuneo – Vital Concept

Gianni Meersman (leaves Etixx – Quick-Step)

TJ Sport (formerly Lampre – Merida)

Ben Swift (leaves Team Sky)

Lotto – Soudal

Nikolas Maes (leaves Etixx – Quick-Step)


Daniele Bennati (leaves Tinkoff)
Víctor de la Parte (leaves CCC Sprandi)

Orica – BikeExchange

Roman Kreuziger (leaves Tinkoff)
Roger Kluge (leaves IAM Cycling)


Tony Martin (leaves Etixx – Quick-Step)
Maurits Lammertink (leaves Roompot – Oranje Peloton)
Baptiste Planckaert (leaves Wallonie – Bruxelles
José Gonçalves (leaves Caja Rural – Seguros RGA)
Rick Zabel (leaves BMC Racing)

LottoNL – Jumbo

Jurgen van den Broeck (leaves Katusha)
Lars Boom (leaves Astana)
Juan José Lobato (leaves Movistar)
Antwan Tolhoek (leaves Roompot – Oranje Peloton)
Floris de Tier (leaves Topsport Vlaanderen)
Stef Clement (leaves IAM Cycling)

Sunweb – Giant

Chris Hamilton (leaves Avanti)
Lennard Hofstede (leaves Rabobank Development)
Wilco Kelderman (leaves LottoNL – Jumbo)
Mike Teunissen (leaves LottoNL – Jumbo)

Team Sky

Owain Doull (leaves Wiggins)
Tao Geohegan Hart (leaves Axeon Hagens Berman)
Lukasz Wisniowski (leaves Etixx – Quick-Step)

Trek – Segafredo

John Degenkolb (leaves Giant – Alpecin)
Mads Pedersen (leaves Stolting Service Group)
Koen de Kort (leaves Giant – Alpecin)
Gregory Daniel (leaves Axeon Hagens Berman)
Ruben Guerreiro (leaves Axeon Hagens Berman)
Alberto Contador (leaves Tinkoff)
Jarlinson Pantano (leaves IAM Cycling)
Matthias Brandle (leaves IAM Cycling)
Michael Gogl (leaves Tinkoff)
André Cardoso (leaves Cannondale – Drapac)

An American in France

What’s it like to be an American cyclist living in France? Watch to get professional road cyclist Joe Dombrowski’s view.