Lorena Wiebes victorious in women’s inaugural Scheldeprijs

The Dutch sprinter secured her first victory of 2021 from a bunch gallop, besting rivals with a very well-timed and powerful kick.

Photo: Anton Vos/Cor Vos

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.

Lorena Wiebes (Team DSM) claimed her first win of the season Wednesday with victory at the inaugural women’s Scheldeprijs.

Sarah Roy (Team BikeExchange) took the sprint on first, going earlier than most with about 250 meters to go. Wiebes bided her time, surfing the wheels of others before launching a ferocious drive to the line with less than 200 meters to go.

“Today was very good, it was a nice race. There was wind in some parts but not enough to make a difference and at the end the sprint was chaotic. It was really nice to win this race,” Wiebes said after the finish.

Wiebes patience paid off as she stormed by several riders on her way to the finish line, pipping Emma Norsgaard Jørgensen (Movistar) to the line, with Elisa Balsamo (Valcar-Travel & Service) taking third place. Meanwhile, Roy faded quickly going too early and slid back to seventh place.

The win in the last of the cobbled classics this spring is a welcome boost for Wiebes and Team DSM after what has been a disappointing start to the year for both.

The inaugural women’s Scheldeprijs rolled out of Schoten Wednesday morning under cloudy skies. It was a messy race at times with several big crashes, including one that caught out pre-race favorite Alice Barnes (Canyon-SRAM).

A late, solo break attempt by Daniek Hengeveld (GT Krush Tunap Pro Cycling) was absorbed by the peloton with seven kilometers to go, and a counterattack by Letizia Borghesi (Aromitalia Basso Bike Vaiano) could not prevent the inevitable sprint finish.

Scheldeprijs WE Results

1WIEBES LorenaTeam DSM3:26:49
2NORSGAARD EmmaMovistar Team0:00
3BALSAMO ElisaValcar - Travel & Service0:00
4MOBERG EmilieDrops - Le Col s/b TEMPUR.0:00
5KLEIN LisaCanyon//SRAM Racing0:00
6SIERRA ArlenisA.R. Monex Women's Pro Cycling Team0:00
7ROY SarahTeam BikeExchange0:00
8ALONSO SandraBizkaia Durango0:00
9DIDERIKSEN AmalieTrek-Segafredo Women0:00
10KOOL CharlotteNXTG Racing0:00
11MARKUS FemkeParkhotel Valkenburg0:00
12CONFALONIERI Maria GiuliaCeratizit-WNT Pro Cycling0:00
13ZANARDI SilviaBepink0:00
14VAN DER DUIN MaikeDrops - Le Col s/b TEMPUR.0:00
15FIDANZA AriannaTeam BikeExchange0:00
16LUTRO AmalieTeam Coop - Hitec Products0:00
17NOVOLODSKAIA MariaA.R. Monex Women's Pro Cycling Team0:00
18VAN HOUTUM CélineMultum Accountants Ladies Cycling Team0:00
19BAKKER MinkeDoltcini - Van Eyck - Proximus CT0:00
20LUNDMARK ClaraGT Krush Tunap Pro Cycling0:00
21LACH MartaCeratizit-WNT Pro Cycling0:00
22TACEY AprilDrops - Le Col s/b TEMPUR.0:00
23FIDANZA MartinaIsolmant - Premac - Vittoria0:00
24SCHWEINBERGER KathrinDoltcini - Van Eyck - Proximus CT0:00
25DE ZOETE MylèneNXTG Racing0:00
26JONGERIUS ClaudiaBingoal Casino - Chevalmeire Cycling Team 0:00
27CAMPOS DanielaBizkaia Durango0:00
28BRENNAUER LisaCeratizit-WNT Pro Cycling0:00
29VAN GOGH NatalieBingoal Casino - Chevalmeire Cycling Team 0:00
30DRUMMOND MichaelaBepink0:00
31TRIAS MireiaMassi - Tactic Women Team0:00
32BALEIŠYTĖ OlivijaAromitalia - Basso Bikes - Vaiano0:00
33WASMUS NienkeGT Krush Tunap Pro Cycling0:00
34LÓPEZ MargaLviv Cycling Team women0:00
35TON QuintyGT Krush Tunap Pro Cycling0:00
36SPEROTTO Maria VittoriaA.R. Monex Women's Pro Cycling Team0:00
37YSLAND Anne DortheTeam Coop - Hitec Products0:00
38WATERREUS KylieMultum Accountants Ladies Cycling Team0:00
39VERHULST GladysArkéa Pro Cycling Team0:00
40LUDWIG HannahCanyon//SRAM Racing0:00
41DELBAERE FienMultum Accountants Ladies Cycling Team0:00
42PARKINSON Abby MaeLotto Soudal Ladies0:00
43GEORGI PfeifferTeam DSM0:00
44DUYCK Ann-SophieMultum Accountants Ladies Cycling Team0:00
45FABER ClaireAndy Schleck - CP NVST - Immo Losch0:00
46VANDER SANDE EliseLotto Soudal Ladies0:00
47VAN VELZEN BryonyDoltcini - Van Eyck - Proximus CT0:00
48DE GAST BelleParkhotel Valkenburg0:00
49VAN ALPHEN AniekPlantur-Pura0:00
50OLSEN Elise Marie Drops - Le Col s/b TEMPUR.0:00
51OLAUSSON WilmaTeam DSM0:00
52MARTÍN SaraMovistar Team0:07
53ČEŠULIENĖ IngaAromitalia - Basso Bikes - Vaiano0:07
54RICHIOUD GretaArkéa Pro Cycling Team0:07
55TENNIGLO MoniekTeam BikeExchange0:07
56CONSONNI ChiaraValcar - Travel & Service0:10
57ANDERSEN SusanneTeam DSM0:10
58VAN ROOIJEN SofieParkhotel Valkenburg0:10
59DE WILDE JuliePlantur-Pura0:10
60BOOGAARD EmmaTeam Coop - Hitec Products0:10
61BRADBURY NeveCanyon//SRAM Racing0:10
62VAN EYNDE FienDoltcini - Van Eyck - Proximus CT0:10
63VAN DE VEL SaraTeam Rupelcleaning0:10
64VAN DEN STEEN KellyBingoal Casino - Chevalmeire Cycling Team 0:10
65SHARPE AliceTeam Rupelcleaning0:10
66DE SMEDT MarijkeMultum Accountants Ladies Cycling Team0:10
67HEINE VitaMassi - Tactic Women Team0:10
68VANDENBULCKE JesseLotto Soudal Ladies0:10
69HARRIS EllaCanyon//SRAM Racing0:14
70JENČUŠOVÁ NoraBepink0:14
71VITILLO MatildeBepink0:14
72KERBAOL CédrineArkéa Pro Cycling Team0:14
73SEITZ AlineTeam Rupelcleaning0:14
74MAYRHOFER LucyTeam Rupelcleaning0:14
75DANFORD GeorgiaAndy Schleck - CP NVST - Immo Losch0:14
76NORBERT-RIBEROLLE MarionTeam Rupelcleaning0:14
77PATERNOSTER LetiziaTrek-Segafredo Women0:14
78HENGEVELD DaniekGT Krush Tunap Pro Cycling0:14
79TEUTENBERG Lea LinCeratizit-WNT Pro Cycling0:14
80PEPERKAMP EsméeTeam DSM0:14
81SOEK JuliaTeam DSM0:14
82VAN ANROOIJ ShirinTrek-Segafredo Women0:14
83PISCIALI FrancescaIsolmant - Premac - Vittoria0:14
84GONZÁLEZ AliciaMovistar Team0:14
85GUARISCHI BarbaraMovistar Team0:14
86BORGHESI LetiziaAromitalia - Basso Bikes - Vaiano0:14
87VAN DER WOLF RosalieMultum Accountants Ladies Cycling Team0:14
88DRUYTS KellyBingoal Casino - Chevalmeire Cycling Team 0:14
89WADSWORTH EmilyNXTG Racing0:14
90RIJKES SarahCeratizit-WNT Pro Cycling0:14
91RODRÍGUEZ GloriaMovistar Team0:14
92TRUYEN MarthePlantur-Pura0:14
93SANGUINETI IlariaValcar - Travel & Service0:14
94GASPARINI AliceIsolmant - Premac - Vittoria0:21
95KNAVEN BrittNXTG Racing0:31
96POLLICINI SilviaValcar - Travel & Service0:34
97PERSICO SilviaValcar - Travel & Service0:34
98SÜßEMILCH LauraPlantur-Pura0:34
99SCHWEINBERGER ChristinaDoltcini - Van Eyck - Proximus CT0:34
100CAMPBELL TenielTeam BikeExchange0:39
101CORDON-RAGOT AudreyTrek-Segafredo Women0:43
102BETZ SvenjaTeam Rupelcleaning1:01
103MACGREGOR BronwynLviv Cycling Team women1:03
104BARNES AliceCanyon//SRAM Racing1:07
105ENSING JannekeTeam BikeExchange1:24
106CANT SannePlantur-Pura1:37
107GONZÁLEZ LucíaBizkaia Durango2:30
108SMEKAL FinjaDrops - Le Col s/b TEMPUR.2:40
109HÁJKOVÁ MarketaBepink2:40
110LAURANCE TyphaineArkéa Pro Cycling Team2:40
111SCAVONE DinaDoltcini - Van Eyck - Proximus CT2:40

Results provided by ProCyclingStats.

An American in France

What’s it like to be an American cyclist living in France? Watch to get professional road cyclist Joe Dombrowski’s view.