Sky reveals full lineup for 2016; Danny Pate left off

The British team unveils its full roster for the 2016 season, which includes high-profile riders Michal Kwiatkowski and Mikel Landa.

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.

A day after signing 2014 world champion Michal Kwiatkowski, Sky announced its complete roster for the 2016 season — and American Danny Pate was not included on the lineup. Veteran riders Berhard Eisel and Kanstantsin Siutsou were also cut.

“Today I am announcing the full Team Sky lineup for 2016,” Sky principal Dave Brailsford said in a press release. “It’s a strong team — led by Chris Froome — that will ensure that we can be even more competitive in all the major races — from grand tours to classics.”

Froome won the 2013 and 2015 editions of the Tour de France. Kwiatkowski rode to victory in the road race at last year’s UCI Road World Championships in Ponferrada, Spain.

Sky also signed Mikel Landa, the current Astana rider who won two stages at this year’s Giro d’Italia en route to finishing third overall. Landa also won a stage at the Vuelta a Espana.

“We have recruited some of the best young talent from around the world in Michal Kwiatkowski and Mikel Landa for example,” Brailsford said. “At the same time we have been able to keep the nucleus of this year’s successful team together by re-signing riders of the calibre of Vasil Kiryienka — the new time trial world champion.

“Cycling is a global sport and Team Sky will always look to recruit the best riders from around the world. But we remain a British team with a strong British core. I’m pleased that the five British riders who were such a big part of this year’s successful Tour de France team will all be riding for us again in 2016 — along with new signing Alex Peters.

“Britain has become a cycling nation over the last decade. We want more and more people to love the bike and Team Sky will continue to play its part in this cycling revolution.”

Sky 2016 roster

Ian Boswell
Philip Deignan
Andrew Fenn
Chris Froome
Michal Golas
Sebastian Henao
Sergio Henao
Benat Intxausti
Peter Kennaugh
Vasil Kiryienka
Christian Knees
Leopold Konig
Michal Kwiatkowski
Mikel Landa
David Lopez
Gianni Moscon
Mikel Nieve
Alex Peters
Lars Petter Nordhaug
Wout Poels
Salvatore Puccio
Nicolas Roche
Luke Rowe
Ian Stannard
Ben Swift
Geraint Thomas
Danny Van Poppel
Elia Viviani
Xabier Zandio

An American in France

What’s it like to be an American cyclist living in France? Watch to get professional road cyclist Joe Dombrowski’s view.