Become a Member

Get access to more than 30 brands, premium video, exclusive content, events, mapping, and more.

Already have an account? Sign In

Become a Member

Get access to more than 30 brands, premium video, exclusive content, events, mapping, and more.

Already have an account? Sign In



USA Cycling announces 15 professional road teams for 2013

Four women's teams among the 15 UCI registered squads announced by USA Cycling on Wednesday

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.

USA Cycling on Wednesday announced the 15 professional road teams registered in the United States for the 2013 season. Among the 15 are ProTeams BMC Racing and Garmin-Sharp, as well as top women’s squad Specialized-lululemon.

UnitedHealthcare and Novo Nordisk (formerly Team Type 1-Sanofi) are registered as Pro Continental squads in the sport’s second division, while Optum-Kelly Benefit Strategies and Tibco-To the Top join Specialized among the four U.S.-based UCI women’s teams. The Exergy Twenty16 team of Mara Abbott was not listed in USA Cycling’s announcement due to an error, but does possess a UCI license for 2013, a USA Cycling spokesperson confirmed Wednesday night.

Eight men’s Continental teams will contest the domestic calendar in 2013, including stalwarts Bissell and Optum, arguably the world’s top development team, Bontrager, and the 5-hour Energy team of National Racing Calendar winner Francisco Mancebo. The latter is a merger of the Kenda-5-hour Energy and Competitive Cyclist squads, managed by Georgia-based On The Rivet.

Missing from the Continental ranks in 2013 are Garmin feeder team Chipotle-First Solar, which will likely shutter due to sponsorship challenges, as well as Exergy and Wonderful Pistachios.

According to a USA Cycling spokesperson, Jason McCartney, announced last month as a new recruit to Bissell from UnitedHealthcare, was added to the team’s roster too late to appear on the initial UCI list, but is registered with the team. SmartStop-Mountain Khakis captain Adam Myerson also does not appear on the list published today, but confirmed via Twitter that he would be on the team’s roster: “3 contracts were delayed, will be added later, mine included.”

2013 Men’s Continental team rosters

5-hour Energy
Gregg Brandt (Winona, Minn.)
Nathaniel English (Berkeley, Calif.)
Francisco Mancebo (ESP)
Shawn Milne (Beverly, Mass.)
Christian Parrett (Macon, Ga.)
Taylor Shelden (Boulder, Colo.)
Robert Sweeting (Danbury, Conn.)
David Williams (Grand Rapids, Mich.)

Chris Baldwin (Boulder, Colo.)
Patrick Bevin (NZL)
Andrew Dahlheim (Austin, Texas)
Phil Gaimon (Athens, Ga.)
Carter Jones (Boulder, Colo.)
Julian Kyer (Boulder, Colo.)
Jonathan McCarty (Boston, Mass.)
Tommy Nankervis (AUS)
K. Frank Pipp (Boulder, Colo.)
Michael Torckler (NZL)
Jeremy Vennell (NZL)

Nathan Brown (Covington, Tenn.)
Lawson Craddock (Austin, Texas)
Greg Daniel (Englewood, Colo.)
Alexandre Darville (Santa Barbara, Calif.)
Ryan Eastman (Petaluma, Calif.)
Joshua Edmondson (GBR)
Andzs Flaksis (LAT)
Gavin Mannion (Dedham, Mass.)
Connor O’Leary (Salt Lake City, Utah)
James Oram (NZL)
Tanner Putt (Park City, Utah)
Jasper Stuyven (BEL)
Nathan Wilson (Elk Grove, Calif.)

Hincapie Sportswear Development
Andy Baker (Easley, S.C.)
Robin Carpenter (Philadelphia, PA)
Oscar Clark (Atlanta, Ga.)
Joseph Lewis (GBR)
Ty Magner (Athens, Ga.)
Alder Philip Martz (Charlotte, N.C.)
Joey Rosskopf (Decatur, Ga.)
Blair Turner (Waxhaw, N.C.)
Thomas Wrona (Pinehurst, N.C.)
Ben Zawacki (Weare, N.H.)

Jamis-Hagens Berman
Janier Acevedo (COL)
Demis Aleman (ARG)
Ruben Companioni (CUB)
James Driscoll (Winooski, Vt.)
Ben Jacques-Maynes (Corralitos, Calif.)
Carson Miller (Seattle, Wash.)
Philip Mooney (Petaluma, Calif.)
Guido Palma (ARG)
Chase Pinkham (Salt Lake City, Utah)
Luis Romero Amaran (CUB)
Eric Schildge (Hanover, N.H.)
Tyler Wren (Rensselaerville, N.Y.)

Jelly Belly-Kenda
Ian Burnett (Durango, Colo.)
Alex Hagman (Fort Collins, Colo.)
Nic Hamilton (CAN)
Charles Huff (Springfield, Mo.)
Christiaan Kriek (RSA)
Luis Lemus Davila (MEX)
Sean Mazich (Phoenix, Ariz.)
Emerson Oronte (Cohasset, Mass.)
Jeremy Powers (Easthampton, Mass.)
Morgan Schmitt (Woodinville, Wash.)
Ricardo Van Der Velde (NED)
Ben Wolfe (Niantic, Conn.)

Optum-Kelly Benefit Strategies
Jesse Anthony (Beverly, Mass.)
Alexander Candelario (Reno, Nev.)
Marsh Cooper (CAN)
Michael Creed (Colorado Springs, Colo.)
Jeremy Durrin (Amherst, Mass.)
Michael Friedman (Superior, Colo.)
Chad Haga (Colorado Springs, Colo.)
Kenneth Hanson (Santa Barbara, Calif.)
Mitchell Hoke (Boulder, Colo.)
Cheyne Hoag (Dansville, N.Y.)
Joseph Kukolla (Indianapolis, Ind.)
Ian Moir (Long Beach, Calif.)
Sebastian Salas (CAN)
Bjorn Selander (Hudson, Wis.)
Michael Sherer (Glencoe, Ill.)
Thomas Soladay (Glendale, Calif.)
Thomas Zirbel (Boulder, Colo.)
Scott Zwizanski (West Chester, Pa.)
Eric Young (Boulder, Colo.)

SmartStop-Mountain Khakis
Thomas Brown (Athens, Ga.)
Jon Hamblen (Winston Salem, N.C.)
Isaac Howe (Burlington, Vt.)
Shane Kline (Bally, Pa.)
Bobby Lea (Topton, Pa.)
Travis Livermon (Winterville, N.C.)
Chris Monteleone (Winston Salem, N.C.)
Clay Murfet (AUS)
John Simes (New Tripoli, Pa.)
Frank Travieso (Athens, Ga.)
Christopher Uberti (Cincinnati, Ohio)
Curtis Winsor (Harrisonburg, Va.)

An American in France

What’s it like to be an American cyclist living in France? Watch to get professional road cyclist Joe Dombrowski’s view.