Horner, Abbott among 29 U.S. riders named to worlds team

USA Cycling names its team for the 2013 road worlds in Italy

Photo: Casey B. Gibson

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.

USA Cycling named its 29-rider squad for the 2013 UCI Elite Road World Championships on Tuesday night. Included in the squad are current Vuelta a España leader Chris Horner (RadioShack-Leopard), Giro Donne champion Mara Abbott (Exergy Twenty16), and 2012 time trial silver medalists Taylor Phinney (BMC Racing) and Evelyn Stevens (Specialized-lululemon).

“I’m really excited about the teams we are sending to the world championships in Firenze,” USA Cycling vice president of athletics Jim Miller said in a press release. “Firenze is a special place, we had a team base near there for several years and it is an area we know well. The organizers of the world championships have developed a spectacular course, and I believe we have the teams capable of producing great results. I am very excited for our teams and athletes and am looking forward to these world championships.”

U.S. National Team for the 2013 UCI Elite Road World Championships

September 22-29 in Florence, Italy
Elite Men
Chris Horner, RadioShack-Leopard
Alex Howes, Garmin-Sharp
*Taylor Phinney, BMC Racing (TT and RR)
*Freddie Rodriguez, Jelly Belly-Kenda
Peter Stetina, Garmin-Sharp
*Andrew Talansky, Garmin-Sharp (TT and RR)
*Tejay van Garderen, BMC Racing

Elite Women
*Mara Abbott, Exergy Twenty16
Megan Gaurnier, Rabobank-liv/Giant
Kristin McGrath, Exergy Twenty16
*Shelley Olds, Tibco-To the Top
*Carmen Small, Specialized-lululemon (TT and RR)
*Evelyn Stevens, Specialized-lululemon (TT and RR)
*Jade Wilcoxson, Optum-Kelly Benefit Strategies

U23 Men
*Nathan Brown, Bontrager (TT and RR)
*Lawson Craddock, Bontrager (TT and RR)
*Tanner Putt, Bontrager
*Nathan Wilson, Bontrager
Gavin Mannion, Bontrager

Junior Men
William Barta, Boise Young Rider Dev Squad
*Miguel Bryon, DCM Cycling
*Geofferey Curran, Get Crackin’-VRC
*Michael Dessau, Slipstream-Craddock Junior Development (TT only)
*Zeke Mostov, Slipstream-Craddock Junior Development (TT and RR)
Justin Oien, MRI Endurance Elite Juniors
*Logan Owen, California-Specialized

Junior Women
Kelly Catlin, Gopher Wheelmen (TT and RR)
*Hanna Swan, Strive Racing (TT and RR)
Sara Youmans, Stranamanti-Keller Rohrback

* Automatic nomination

An American in France

What’s it like to be an American cyclist living in France? Watch to get professional road cyclist Joe Dombrowski’s view.