Sonny Colbrelli wins Paris-Roubaix in muddy, brutal conditions

Florian Vermeersch kicks to second and Mathieu van der Poel rounded out podium in thrilling three-up sprint.

Photo: Tim de Waele/Getty Images

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.

ROUBAIX, France (VN) — Sonny Colbrelli (Bahrain-Victorious) won a dramatic edition of Paris-Roubaix in brutal conditions Sunday.

Florian Vermeersch was second and Mathieu van der Poel  rounded out the podium with second and third in a three-up sprint coming into the Roubaix velodrome.

“Unbelievable!” he said. “My first Paris-Roubaix, I am very happy, Today was a legend of a Roubaix with the rain in the start. I follow all the moves in the final, and I could do my best sprint. I am so happy for this victory.”

Neither had even started Roubaix before Sunday, and all three rode onto the podium.

The victory is the first by an Italian since 1999.

Carrefour de l’Arbre sees selection

Riders were pushed to the edge in what was the first wet and muddy edition of Paris-Roubaix since 2001 and 2002.

Riders were covered in mud and grime from head to toe.

Things reached a crescendo at the decisive Carrefour de l’Arbre sector with 15km to go.

Gianni Moscon was nursing a promising 1:20 lead, but punctured then crashed only to see his lead dissolve.

“I had some bad luck,” Moscon said. “I don’t know what would have happened. The race unfolded the way that it did. When they caught me, I did not have the legs to follow them. At least another Italian won, and our nation can be happy. I have fourth — I will try again.”

The Italian was leading by more than a minute before luck turned against him, and he rode into the velodrome in a bitter fourth.

Further behind, van Aert and others in a favorites chase group were finally coming to life, but it was too late. Yves Lampaert (Deceuninck-Quick-Step) lead the group in with fifth.

Van der Poel, Colbrelli and Vermeersch led coming off the Carrefour with a gap of 1:03 to the Van Aert group.

Chaos in the wet and grime

It was chaos throughout the race. The peloton woke up to rain, cool temperatures and gusting winds.

A big group went early with 30 riders pulling clear before the first sectors of cobbles. There were crashes and chaos across the race.

Many of the top names crashed, including Peter Sagan and others. 

Remnants of the early break continued to hold off a determined chase group featuring many of the pre-race favorites. The race hit the Arenberg with the race fractured into groups.

The muddy and slick cobbles took their fair share of victims, and Van Aert barely missed a crash in the Arenberg. 

A baker’s dozen still held off the leaders in the peloton by about a minute when van der Poel bolted clear with about 70km to go. A few tried to go with him, but ceded to his superior power.

Van der Poel bridged up to a chase group featuring Colbrelli, which settled in about 50 seconds behind the leaders, with the Van Aert dangling about 40 seconds behind.

The race settled in a regrouping going into the decisive final sectors.

Moscon alone at the front

The race entered its next decisive phase at the five-star Mons-en-Pevele. Moscon, who rode into the day’s early break, found himself alone at the front.

The Italian widened his gap to more than a minute when van der Poel jumped out of a chase group with about 38km to go.

Behind them, the Van Aert group was hovering at about two minutes back, but without teammates, the Belgian star was finding it hard to make a big move.

Conditions improved as rain stopped and wind picked up, leaving the pavement sectors nearly dry and the cobbles ending up with thicker but perhaps a bit less treacherous racing conditions for the final hour. 

With 30km to go, Moscon suffered a puncture. A quick bike change saw his gap shrink to about 45 seconds. The Van Aert group was getting closer to the Van der Poel group heading toward the Carrefour de l’Arbre.

Paris-Roubaix Results

1COLBRELLI SonnyBahrain - Victorious6:01:57
2VERMEERSCH FlorianLotto Soudal0:00
3VAN DER POEL MathieuAlpecin-Fenix0:00
4MOSCON GianniINEOS Grenadiers0:44
5LAMPAERT YvesDeceuninck - Quick Step1:16
6LAPORTE ChristopheCofidis1:16
7VAN AERT WoutTeam Jumbo-Visma1:16
8VAN ASBROECK TomIsrael Start-Up Nation1:16
9BOIVIN GuillaumeIsrael Start-Up Nation1:16
10HAUSSLER HeinrichBahrain - Victorious1:16
11RUTSCH JonasEF Education - Nippo1:16
12WALSCHEID MaxTeam Qhubeka NextHash3:17
13TURGIS AnthonyTotalEnergies3:17
14KRISTOFF AlexanderUAE Team Emirates4:40
15VERMEERSCH GianniAlpecin-Fenix4:40
16LANGEVELD SebastianEF Education - Nippo4:45
17HALLER MarcoBahrain - Victorious6:21
18CAPIOT AmauryTeam Arkéa Samsic6:21
19PLANCKAERT BaptisteIntermarché - Wanty - Gobert Matériaux6:21
20MOZZATO LucaB&B Hotels p/b KTM6:21
21REX LaurenzBingoal Pauwels Sauces WB6:21
22VAN HOOYDONCK NathanTeam Jumbo-Visma6:21
23VANMARCKE SepIsrael Start-Up Nation6:21
25STUYVEN JasperTrek - Segafredo6:26
26ŠTYBAR ZdeněkDeceuninck - Quick Step6:26
27GARCÍA CORTINA IvánMovistar Team7:14
28SWIFT ConnorTeam Arkéa Samsic7:22
29GILBERT PhilippeLotto Soudal7:26
30BOASSON HAGEN EdvaldTotalEnergies8:37
31VAN GESTEL DriesTotalEnergies8:37
32VAN AVERMAET GregAG2R Citroën Team9:23
34DÉMARE ArnaudGroupama - FDJ9:23
35DAVY ClémentGroupama - FDJ9:23
36ROBEET LudovicBingoal Pauwels Sauces WB9:23
37VAN DER SANDE ToshLotto Soudal9:26
38DE BACKER BertB&B Hotels p/b KTM9:29
39SWEENY HarryLotto Soudal10:03
40VAN DER HOORN TacoIntermarché - Wanty - Gobert Matériaux10:52
41PHILIPSEN JasperAlpecin-Fenix10:52
42WELTEN BramTeam Arkéa Samsic10:52
43DRUCKER JempyCofidis10:52
44SKUJIŅŠ TomsTrek - Segafredo11:06
45RICKAERT JonasAlpecin-Fenix11:11
46EEKHOFF NilsTeam DSM12:24
47BIERMANS JentheIsrael Start-Up Nation12:24
48MERLIER TimAlpecin-Fenix12:24
49DILLIER SilvanAlpecin-Fenix12:24
50BOL CeesTeam DSM12:24
51WRIGHT FredBahrain - Victorious12:24
52NAESEN OliverAG2R Citroën Team12:24
53DEGENKOLB JohnLotto Soudal12:24
54DURBRIDGE LukeTeam BikeExchange12:24
55CLARKE SimonTeam Qhubeka NextHash12:24
56VAN LERBERGHE BertDeceuninck - Quick Step12:24
57SAGAN PeterBORA - hansgrohe12:24
58DEWULF StanAG2R Citroën Team12:24
59LEMOINE CyrilB&B Hotels p/b KTM12:28
60GOŁAŚ MichałINEOS Grenadiers12:32
61VAN DEN BERG JuliusEF Education - Nippo12:37
62BISSEGGER StefanEF Education - Nippo12:37
63ROOSEN TimoTeam Jumbo-Visma13:19
64LIVYNS ArjenBingoal Pauwels Sauces WB16:21
65JORGENSON MatteoMovistar Team16:25
66BAUER JackTeam BikeExchange17:59
67ROWE LukeINEOS Grenadiers20:28
68ASGREEN KasperDeceuninck - Quick Step20:28
69DECLERCQ TimDeceuninck - Quick Step20:28
70KWIATKOWSKI MichałINEOS Grenadiers20:28
71SÉNÉCHAL FlorianDeceuninck - Quick Step20:28
72BOHLI TomCofidis20:28
73RUSSO ClémentTeam Arkéa Samsic20:28
74SAGAN JurajBORA - hansgrohe20:28
75NAESEN LawrenceAG2R Citroën Team20:28
76PETIT AdrienTotalEnergies20:28
77SCHACHMANN MaximilianBORA - hansgrohe20:28
78BJERG MikkelUAE Team Emirates20:28
79JUUL-JENSEN ChristopherTeam BikeExchange20:28
80SCULLY TomEF Education - Nippo20:28
81GROENEWEGEN DylanTeam Jumbo-Visma20:28
82AFFINI EdoardoTeam Jumbo-Visma22:50
83STANNARD RobertTeam BikeExchange22:53
84SAJNOK SzymonCofidis23:04
85TEUNISSEN MikeTeam Jumbo-Visma24:33
86NORSGAARD MathiasMovistar Team26:09
87ALLEGAERT PietCofidis26:14
88JANSE VAN RENSBURG ReinardtTeam Qhubeka NextHash26:18
89MEEUS JordiBORA - hansgrohe27:22
90BARBIER RudyIsrael Start-Up Nation28:36
91NOPPE ChristopheTeam Arkéa Samsic28:36
92DUPONT TimothyBingoal Pauwels Sauces WB28:36
93FINÉ EddyCofidis28:36
94FRISON FrederikLotto Soudal28:36
95MAS LluísMovistar Team28:36
96LIEPIŅŠ EmīlsTrek - Segafredo28:46

Results provided by ProCyclingStats.

An American in France

What’s it like to be an American cyclist living in France? Watch to get professional road cyclist Joe Dombrowski’s view.