USA Pro Challenge organizers release preliminary rosters

Tejay van Garderen hopes to successfully defend his 2013 title with another victory in Colorado

Photo: Tim De Waele

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.

Defending champion Tejay van Garderen (BMC Racing) headlines a stacked field at the upcoming USA Pro Challenge.

The 25-year-old American finished fifth at this year’s Tour de France, third in the 2011 USA Pro Challenge, and second in the Colorado race two years ago. He will attempt to return to the top step of the podium at the race through Colorado, August 18-24.

“I’m really looking forward to defending my race title in Colorado this year,” van Garderen said in a statement from race organizers. “Because it starts in my hometown [Aspen], it’s different and more relaxed. To race in front of my family and friends is always special. We are bringing a really motivated team and with a summit finish this year, it promises to be another hard race.”

Looking to spoil van Garderen’s party will be the Tinkoff-Saxo duo of Rafal Majka and Michael Rogers. Majka won two stages and the mountains classification at the recent Tour de France, and Rogers won a stage.

Also racing at the Pro Challenge will be Leopold Konig (Netapp-Endura), who finished seventh in the Tour last month; Frank Schleck (Trek Factory Racing), who was 12th at the Tour; and Ivan Basso (Cannondale), a two-time Giro d’Italia champion.

American Tom Danielson (Garmin-Sharp) will also compete in Colorado.

“I’m super excited to be coming back to race the USA Pro Challenge with my Garmin-Sharp teammates,” said Danielson, who like many in the Pro Challenge field is currently racing at the Larry H. Miller Tour of Utah. “Personally, it’s the one event every year I really look forward to because of the huge and crazy crowds and the general vibe of the race. It’s like no other race. Plus, our team is headquartered in Denver, so we have extra motivation.”

Jens Voigt (Trek) will compete in Colorado before retiring from competitive cycling at the end of the race.

“I chose the Pro Challenge as my final race because of the fans,” said Voigt. “All the fans in Colorado love outdoor activities, so they are all experts…they know exactly how hard it is to go up those crazy-long climbs. It’s a beautiful state and I just always love the warm welcome and the support I get from the fans.”

Organizers released the preliminary list of teams and rosters slated to compete at the Pro Challenge on Thursday.

UCI ProTeams

BMC Racing
Ben Hermans (BEL)
Brent Bookwalter (USA)
Martin Kohler (SUI)
Michael Schar (SUI)
Peter Stetina (USA)
Rick Zabel (GER)
Tejay Van Garderen (USA)
Yannick Eijssen (BEL)

Alan Marangoni (ITA)
Cristiano Salerno (ITA)
Davide Formolo (ITA)
Edward King (USA)
Elia Viviani (ITA)
Ivan Basso (ITA)
Matej Mohorič (SLO)
Michel Koch (GER)

Alex Howes (USA)
Ben King (USA)
Gavin Mannion (stagiare) (USA)
Janier Acevedo (COL)
Lachlan Morton (AUS)
Phil Gaimon (USA)
Thomas Dekker (NED)
Tom Danielson (USA)

Bruno Pires (POR)
Edward Beltran (COL)
Jesper Hansen (DEN)
Michael Mørkøv (RUS)
Michael Rogers (AUS)
Pawel Poljanski (POL)
Rafał Majka (POL)
Rasmus Guldhammer (NOR) (stagiare)

Trek Factory Racing
Calvin Watson (AUS)
Fränk Schleck (LUX)
Hayden Roulston (NZL)
Jens Voigt (GER)
Markel Irizar (ESP)
Matthew Busche (USA)
Riccardo Zoidl (AUT)
Robert Kiserlovski (CRO)

UCI Pro Continental Teams

Drapac Professional Cycling
Adam Phelan (AUS)
Bernard Sulzberger (AUS)
Darren Lapthorne (AUS)
Jai Crawford (AUS)
Jonathan Cantwell (AUS)
Lachlan Norris (AUS)
Robbie Hucker (AUS)
Wesley Sulzberger (AUS)

Bartosz Huzarski (POL)
David De La Cruz (ESP)
Gregor Muhlberger (AUT)
Jose Mendes (POR)
Leopold König (CZE)
Michael Schwarzmann (GER)
Patrick Konrad (AUT)
Tiago Machado (POR)

Novo Nordisk
Andrea Peron (ITA)
Charles Planet (FRA)
David Lozano (ESP)
Javier Megias (ESP)
Joonas Henttala (FIN)
Kevin De Mesmaeker (BEL)
Martijn Verschoor (NED)
Scott Ambrose (NZL)

Ben Day (AUS)
Danny Summerhill (USA)
Isaac Bolivar Hernandez (COL)
Jeff Louder (USA)
Jonny Clarke (AUS)
Kiel Reijnen (USA)
Lucas Euser (USA)
Marc De Maar (CAR)

UCI Continental Teams

Bissell Development Team
Chris Putt (USA)
Daniel Eaton (USA)
Gregory Daniel (USA)
James Oram (NZL)
Keegan Swirbul (USA)
Nathan Van Hooydonck (BEL)
Nicholai Brøchner (DEN)
Tanner Putt (USA)

Hincapie Sportswear Development
Chris Butler (USA)
Dion Smith (NZL)
Joe Lewis (AUS)
Joey Rosskopf (USA)
Oscar Clark (USA)
Robin Carpenter (USA)
Toms Skujiņš (LAT)
Ty Magner (USA)

Jamis-Hagens Berman
Ben Jacques-Maynes (USA)
Carson Miller (USA)
Daniel Jaramillo (COL)
Gregory Brenes (CRC)
Ian Crane (USA)
Luis Amaran (CUB)
Matt Cooke (USA)
Rob Squire (USA)

Jelly Belly-Maxxis
Freddie Rodriguez (USA)
Ian Burnett (USA)
Jacob Rathe (USA)
Kirk Carlsen (USA)
Luis Davila (MEX)
Matthew Lloyd (AUS)
Serghei Tvetcov (ROM)
Steve Fisher (USA)

Optum-Kelly Benefit Strategies
Alex Candelario (USA)
Bjorn Selander (USA)
Carter Jones (USA)
Jesse Anthony (USA)
Ryan Anderson (CAN)
Scott Zwizanski (USA)
Thomas Zirbel (USA)
William Routley (CAN)

Rapha Condor JLT
Daniel Whitehouse (GBR)
Elliott Porter (GBR)
Graham Briggs (GBR)
Hugh Carthy (GBR)
Kristian House (GBR)
Michael Cuming (GBR)
Richard Handley (GBR)
Tom Moses (GBR)

Eric Marcotte (USA)
Flavio De Luna (MEX)
Julian Kyer (USA)
Jure Kocjan (SLO)
Michael Torckler (NZL)
Rob Britton (CAN)
Travis McCabe (USA)
Zach Bell (CAN)

Trending on Velo

An American in France

What’s it like to be an American cyclist living in France? Watch to get professional road cyclist Joe Dombrowski’s view.